Force Unit Conversion

When converting units of force, it’s important to understand the principle behind the conversion process. Utilizing conversion factors simplifies the conversion to a basic multiplication equation: S * C = E, where S represents the starting value, C is the conversion factor, and E is the end converted result.

For instance, if you want to convert 20 kilogram-force (kgf) to newtons (N), you would multiply the force value by the conversion factor, which is approximately 9.80665. This yields a converted result of approximately 196.133 N.

Conversely, converting from newtons to kilogram-force involves dividing the force value by the conversion factor. For example, dividing 196.133 N by 9.80665 gives you approximately 20 kgf.

When converting between different units, such as from kilogram-force to ounce-force, specific conversion factors are required. For example, to convert kgf to ozf, you would multiply by 9.80665 and divide by 0.2780139. Alternatively, you can directly multiply by the ratio of these conversion factors, approximately 35.2739557, to convert kgf to ozf. Understanding these conversion principles enables you to accurately convert force measurements across different units.

The following Force units are supported

  • Dynes
  • Kilograms force
  • Kilonewtons [kN]
  • Kips
  • Meganewtons [MN]
  • Newtons [N]
  • Pounds Force
  • Poundals Sthenes (=kN)
  • Tonnes force (UK)
  • Tons Force (US)
Scroll to Top